Skip to main content


Library Home | My C-State (Blackboard)Cincinnati State Logo



First Year Experience (FYE) Distance Education: Finding Articles

Connecting From Off-Campus

The library gives you free access to hundreds of databases, making it easy for you to find scholarly articles, credible news reports, online books, & more. Most can be accessed from off-campus by following the links on our site & then entering your name & 7-digit College ID.

Not sure what your ID number is? Go to MYCSTATE & use the link for "Look Up Username/Reset Your Cincinnati State Password" to retrieve it. Watch our "Looking Up Your College ID" video for more instructions.

Popular Databases for Research

Below are the "Top 10" databases for starting your college research.  Additional databases can be found in the Databases A-Z guide.

Smarter Search Strategies!

Brainstorm your Search Strategy

Boolean Operators

Searching with "AND"
Think of "who, what, when, where, & why" for ways to focus your topic. When you connect keywords with "AND", you will narrow your search because you will only receive results that include BOTH keywords.
Searching with "OR"
Before searching, brainstorm words or concepts that are similar in meaning and use those as search terms. When you use "OR" to connect keywords, you broaden your search because the database will give you results that include either of your keywords.
Searching with "NOT"
When you use "NOT" with your keywords, you narrow your search because your results will exclude any sources including the second keyword.
You can also TRUNCATE
Insert an asterisk (hold the Shift key & the 8 key at the same time) to get results that include all possible endings of a root word. For example:
"symbol*" will retrieve symbol, symbolizes, symbolism, etc.
"devia*" will retrieve deviates, deviant, deviance, etc.

Scholarly v Popular

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.

Watch & Learn: Academic Search Complete

Follow the Step-by-Step Tutorial or watch the video below.

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.

E-Journals

If you are looking for a specific journal, please visit our Journals A-Z site.

 

RESOURCES

Library Guides
Research Databases
Reference & Stats
Credible Websites
Citation Guides

  

 

SERVICES

Renew Books
Course Reserves
Student Services
Faculty Services
College Archives

 

LEARN MORE

Library Hours
News & Events
Frequently Asked Questions
Mission & Policies
Staff Contacts

 

 

GET HELP

Phone: 513.569.1606
Text: 513.ASK.4466
Chat:
Instant Message Popout

STAY CONNECTED

facebook twitter youtube

 

Berry Library • Room 170 Main Building • 3520 Central Parkway, Cincinnati, OH 45223-2690 • 513-569-1606