Skip to main content


Library Home | My C-State (Blackboard)Cincinnati State Logo



Biology: Finding Articles

Connecting From Off-Campus

The library gives you free access to hundreds of databases, making it easy for you to find scholarly articles, credible news reports, online books, & more. Most can be accessed from off-campus by following the links on our site & then entering your name & 7-digit College ID.

Not sure what your ID number is? Go to MYCSTATE & use the link for "Look Up Username/Reset Your Cincinnati State Password" to retrieve it. Watch our "Looking Up Your College ID" video for more instructions.

Finding Background Information: Reference Resources

Finding Articles for Biology

These are just a few resources you can use to start your research, but you can find more on our Databases A-Z page.

Searching Google Scholar

If you're working from off-campus, be sure to set your Google Scholar settings so that they link to the full-text of articles owned by Cincinnati State. It's easy! Watch the video below for directions & some Google Scholar tips, or follow the instructions below.

  • Start at Google Scholar & find the menu icon.
  • Click the "Settings" link
  • Click on "Library Links"
  • Type "Cincinnati State" in the search box
  • Check the box next to Cincinnati State's result, then "Save"

When searching, you'll see a link for "Find It!@CinState" if you have access to the article through our library. If you're off-campus, you'll need to enter your name & 7 digit college ID to connect. Once connected, look for the .pdf link to open the full-text article. Good luck!

 

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.

Are you on-campus? Start your Google Scholar search below!


Google Scholar Search

Looking Up Full-Text of Article Citations

You may come across articles online that look great for your topic, but do not have full-text available. When this happens, use the article's citation to try to find it in one of the library's databases. You can search by author or by title, or use the box at the right to see if we have access by searching for the journal's title.

Please note: a correctly formatted APA citation will have a "hanging indent", meaning that the first line is normal length across the page, but all subsequent lines are tabbed in.

Diagram of a citation in APA style

Scholarly v Popular

How to Tell if an Article is Scholarly

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.


How to Read a Scholarly Article

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.

Watch & Learn: Academic Search Complete

Follow the Step-by-Step Tutorial or watch the video below.

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.

E-Journals

If you are looking for a specific journal, please visit our Journals A-Z site.

 

RESOURCES

Library Guides
Research Databases
Reference & Stats
Credible Websites
Citation Guides

  

 

SERVICES

Renew Books
Course Reserves
Student Services
Faculty Services
College Archives

 

LEARN MORE

Library Hours
News & Events
Frequently Asked Questions
Mission & Policies
Staff Contacts

 

 

GET HELP

Phone: 513.569.1606
Text: 513.ASK.4466
Chat:
Instant Message Popout

STAY CONNECTED

facebook twitter youtube

 

Berry Library • Room 170 Main Building • 3520 Central Parkway, Cincinnati, OH 45223-2690 • 513-569-1606