Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Faculty Guide: Finding Articles

Connecting From Off-Campus

You will need to know your 7-digit College ID to connect to most of our resources from off-campus.

Not sure what your ID number is? Go to MYCSTATE & use the link for "Look Up Username/Reset Your Cincinnati State Password" to retrieve it. Watch our "Looking Up Your College ID" video for more instructions.

Popular Databases for Research

These are just a few of the places you can go to start your research. For more databases, visit our Databases A-Z  guide.

Searching Google Scholar

If you're working from off-campus, be sure to set your Google Scholar settings so that they link to the full-text of articles owned by Cincinnati State. It's easy! Watch the video below for directions & some Google Scholar tips, or follow the instructions below.

  • Start at Google Scholar & find the menu icon.
  • Click the "Settings" link
  • Click on "Library Links"
  • Type "Cincinnati State" in the search box
  • Check the box next to Cincinnati State's result, then "Save"

When searching, you'll see a link for "Find It!@CinState" if you have access to the article through our library. If you're off-campus, you'll need to enter your name & 7 digit college ID to connect. Once connected, look for the .pdf link to open the full-text article. Good luck!

 

Problems viewing? Watch it on YouTube.

Are you on-campus? Start your Google Scholar search below!


Google Scholar Search

Search Tips: Articles

“And”, “Or”, “Not”(Boolean Operators): Use the words to narrow or expand your search results. For Example:
 

  • “Morrison” AND “symbolism” will return results that contain BOTH of the terms.
  • ”criticism” OR “review” OR “interpretation” will return results that contain at least one of the terms. Useful for words with similar meanings.
  • ”cinderella” NOT “rock band” will return results that do NOT include the 1980’s rock band, Cinderella.

Truncate using the asterisk (hold the Shift key & the 8 key at the same time) to get results that include all possible endings of a root word. Fo example:
 

  • "symbol*" will retrieve symbol, symbolizes, symbolism, etc.
  • "devia*" will retrieve deviates, deviant, deviance, etc.

Brainstorm words or concepts that are similar in meaning and use those as search terms. If you find a good resource, look at the “Subject Headings” or “Descriptors” listed and use those as additional search terms.

Bibliographies/References/Works Cited pages are great ways to find additional resources. You can search by title in the library’s Catalogs and/or Databases.

Watch & Learn: Database Tutorials

Video Tutorials
Our YouTube Playlist has quick tutorials on our most popular databases. Click the menu icon in the playlist to go straight to the resource you need.



Cincinnati State Logo


Johnnie Mae Berry Library

Phone: 513.569.1606
Text: 513.275.4466
Chat:
Instant Message Popout
Email: library@cincinnatistate.edu



Berry Library • Room 170 Main Building • 3520 Central Parkway, Cincinnati, OH 45223-2690

chat loading...